Archive | 8:00 am

Interview: Virginia Paca On Her Homegrown Foodbank To Feed The Needy

2 Nov

 

Virginia Paca grows a special garden to feed friends, families, and the homeless hurting from the economy in Pasadena, California.  She began planting her backyard garden two years ago, never thinking she’d be making a difference. 

An architect and garden designer by trade,  she’s now established her own personal food bank helping people in need with a bumper crop of fresh organic fruits and vegetables.   A self-described risk-taker, she says her new calling is “cathartic.”

Virginia Paca's Veggies

Veggies from Virginia's Garden

“I would like to leave people a little better than I found them and I’d like to leave the world better than I found it.  If I could do that I would feel like I had a successful life.”         Virginia Paca

My friend and reporter Stacey Gualandi met Virginia, where else?, in her abundant garden filled with heirloom tomatoes, strawberries, corn, watermelon, cucumbers, you name it, to find out what drives her desire to donate…   Continue reading